Here is a step-by-step guide to help you permanently delete or temporarily deactivate your Instagram account.
It’s pretty easy to set up an Instagram account and the joy it brings while browsing the feed and reel is fantastic. But have you ever thought about deleting your Instagram account permanently or deactivating your Instagram account temporarily? Well, that can be a task in itself.
That’s why we’ve prepared a detailed guide with steps to help you delete your Instagram account. This guide tells you how to permanently delete or temporarily deactivate your Instagram account.
When should one deactivate their Instagram account? Well, if you’re taking a temporary break, instead of permanently deleting your Insta profile, you can use the deactivate Instagram account feature so you don’t lose your followers and posts.
Before deleting your Insta account, make sure to download Instagram data including posts including photos, roles or videos.
If you delete the Instagram account permanently, every detail will be removed from the app, including profile, photos, videos, comments and losing followers. The process is irreversible, which means that once the account has been deleted, you cannot revert it and all your data will be deleted.
Interestingly, Meta-owned Instagram doesn’t offer a direct in-app option to delete the account, but it has it embedded in the Help Center page. So they try to make it extra difficult for you to delete your account, which is a sneaky trick of the company. These are the steps to delete your account anyway:
Instagram offers its users a convenient way to download a copy of profile information so that they do not lose their images and videos. The platform will send the details to your registered email address.
Did you know that with Instagram you can temporarily disable your account for a period of your choice? Yes, Facebook subsidiary gives you the freedom to delete the account from Instagram so that no one can see your profile on the platform. This feature hides your photos, videos, likes and comments from social media. However, you can temporarily deactivate and reactivate your Instagram account via a web browser on a PC or a mobile.
Follow the instructions below to temporarily disable an Instagram account:
No, both are completely different things. If you deactivate the account, you can resume access at any time, but if you delete the account, you will no longer be able to access the same account after 30 days, but you will have to create a new Instagram account.
It is not possible to delete or deactivate an Instagram account without providing a valid password. If you’ve forgotten your password, you’ll need to reset it to continue.
No, it is not necessary to delete the account permanently. Instead, you can change your password and activate two-factor authentication for greater security.